Waffles, headaches, and chocolate covered strawberries

 

Hey you guuuuuys!

Guess what?!

Last night I did something a little daring.

I put some yeast, sugar, and water in a bowl.

tuesday1

I mixed some milk, butter, and flour together.

tuesday

I then mixed the two bowls together, covered it, and set it aside while I crossed my fingers and said a little prayer.

tuesday2

The next morning,

I added the eggs, vanilla, and baking soda and heated the waffle iron.

tuesday4

tuesday7

And guess what?!

After 3 failed attempts, I finally got it right.

They were good!

I guess it was the flour all along.

I will not be defeated!

And for a special touch I added a few blueberries in mine.

tuesday6I was so excited that it finally worked out.  I will definitely be making these waffles all the time, and with all purpose flour.  That’s one thing I will never forget when it comes to making waffles.

So I do have a confession to make….

I had gone 6 days sans alcohol.

I’m not sure what my purpose was except that 1) I needed a new goal to work on.  2) I wanted to see how my body felt without having a drink.  Would I notice?  Would it be something that I would want to continue doing?

I used to drink a lot.

Up until this year, I would have to admit that I’m a little ashamed at times about my drinking and how I acted when I got white- girl wasted.

It was not pretty.

So when it comes to drinking, now a days, I don’t drink half of what I used to drink and if I want a beer, a glass of wine, or a drink.  I’ll have one.  I’ll drink one because it’s what I wanted, not because I am drinking to get drunk.

So I started my 30 days with no alcohol on the 19th of August.

On the 25th, this past Sunday, I was at home.

The weather was nice.

And I wanted a beer.

I debated.  Should I?  Shouldn’t I?

Would I being failing if I did have one?

 

And then I woke up the next morning, with my head pounding.

Do I think that the beer caused my headache?

No.

Do I think that it was a contributing factor to my headache?

Yes.

The last time I had a headache like this was when I had a glass of wine one night.

It’s not that I’m drinking to the point where I feel like I’m going to wake up with a headache.

The headache is so bad that it makes me physically ill, and the side of my face hurts from my teeth to my head.

It is one of the worst pains, and I can’t deal with it anymore.

I don’t have the option to be out for a day because of a headache, so when I took Justine to the ear, nose, and throat doctor, I made an appointment for myself.

I was talking to the doctor because I was sure it was caused from my sinuses, but he isn’t so sure.

Even in the pain I was in I still managed to get on the treadmill for 40 minutes,

and got in some yoga even though I could only put in half the effort of what I usually do.

tuesday8

The verdict: I do not want to drink.  I feel like this headache, is my body’s way of telling me that alcohol is not my friend, and that it might not be a good idea right now.

Soooo… let the 30 days begin… again.

I like waking up in the morning and feeling good, and getting things done.  I do not like feeling like poop, and struggling the rest of the day.

My weekend is pretty much over and I’m back to work tonight.

I got a little food prep done.

tuesday9tuesday11A little oranges, blueberries, and strawberries to get me through the night.

I also made some chocolate covered strawberries, and a glob of chocolate covered blueberries.

Why?  Just cause I wanted a little treat.

tuesday10

Do you have crazy painful headaches?  What do you do to alleviate the pain?

2 thoughts on “Waffles, headaches, and chocolate covered strawberries

  1. I used to suffer from horrible headaches… as in I couldn’t go to work… I thought about acupuncture but decided against it. I went to a Dr. and he told me it was nothing but stress. Lots of knots built up everywhere. Now, I literally take yoga, pray a lot and take Aleve! :) I hope you feel better!

    • Between my headaches and stomach issues I haven’t been feeling myself for the past few days, and I hate that.
      I’m thinking about calling my Doctor to get an appointment, if this doesn’t stop soon. I definitely am loving doing yoga daily, and feel good minus the head and stomach. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

